Annapurna Himalayan Range

Annapurna is the tenth tallest mountain in the world, located at the altitude of 8,091m. Kali Gandaki River separates the Annapurna Himalayan range from the great gorge that carves through the Himalayas. The region is surrounded by many famous Himalayan ranges like Annapurna Himalayan range, Dhaulagiri and Machhapuchhre (Fishtail Mountain). Annapurna is a Sanskrit name which means ‘Goddess of Harvest’.

Annapurna Himalayan Range is famous for its trekking with its major trekking routes, Jomsom, Muktinath, Annapurna Sanctuary, also known as Annapurna Base Camp and Annapurna Circuit. Also the area has an Annapurna Conservation Area Project which covers the whole Annapurna Range i.e. more than 7600sq km which was established in 1986.

It offers diverse flora and fauna from subtropical to pine and the beautiful rhododendron on the way. It also accommodates wildlife like blue sheep, snow leopard, tigers and the Himalayan thar. The major communities residing here are of Gurung and Thakali.

Major peaks of the Annapurna Range are:

Annapurna I – 8,091m

Annapurna II – 7,937m

Annapurna III – 7,555m

Annapurna IV – 7,525m

Gangapurna – 7,455m

Annapurna South – 7,219m

Its major highlights are Phewa Lake, Gurung Village, Hinko Cave, Bamboo Forests, Machhapuchhre Base Camp and Annapurna Base Camp.

The trek is also called Royal Trek because Britain’s Prince Charles trekked it in 1980s. Trek offers splendid views of the beautiful Himalayas, dense rhododendron forest, charming and welcoming Gurung villages. It is one of the best treks one can experience in their life.