Land Reform Acts in Nepal

The Land Reform Act in Nepal that has been enacted from past to present (2012) in order to reform the land tenure system is mentioned below,

Tenure Rights Protection Act (1951)

Formation of Land Reform Commission (1953)

The Land Act (1995)

Land of Cultivators Record Act (1954)

Birta Abolition (1959)

Land Reorganization Act (1962)

Land Reform Act (1964)

The Land Reform Act (1964) is a cumulative outcome of precious efforts to transform the socio-economic structure of the society by altering institutional structure of land and agriculture.

Its major objectives are to eliminate all forms of exploitation prevailing in the society and to provide the necessary legal framework to make both current and future investment in land possible, catalyst of economic development, maintain social justice, faire share of the procedure to the cultivators, proper utilization of land and to maximize the agriculture production.

It fixed the ceiling on ownership of the land holdings as, 25 Bigha (17 hec.) in Terai and inner Terai, 80 Ropanis (4.07 hec.) in the Hills and Mountains and 50 Ropanis (2.5 hec.) in Kathmandu.

It lead to the equal distribution of the land holdings, encouraged compulsory savings and protected the tenure rights. However, the ceiling and distribution is not done according to the land productivity. Also the fixed ceiling is usually surpassed when acquiring or distributing the land due to ineffective implement of the act.