Small Farmers Development Bank Limited (Sana Kisan Bikas Bank Limited)

Update: The bank has changed its name to ‘Sana Kisan Laghubitta Bittiya Sanstha Limited.’

Small Farmers Development Bank (Sana Kisan Bikas Bank Limited) is a leading financially viable microfinance bank owned by Small Farmer Cooperative Limited (SFCL) and similar rural Micro Finance Institutions (MFI) to substantially improve the quality of life of the rural people. The major work of the bank is wholesale financing of SFCLs and rural MFIs and to advocate and support capacity building of these institutions in cooperation with partners.

The bank was established in July 2001 under the Company Act and is licensed by Nepal Rastra Bank under the Bank and Financial Institutions Act as a ‘D’ category financial institution. The bank started providing wholesale credit to other cooperatives and microfinance institutions too in order to expedite access to microfinance services for the low income people, especially those living in hills and mountains areas of the country.

Along with providing wholesale financing, the bank also monitors and supervises client MFI’s activities to ascertain adherence to prudential and non prudential regulations, provides technical assistance for institutional strengthening and capacity building, pools resources from the government and donors for social mobilization and community development activities through client MFIs, undertakes replication program to expand microfinance services to the underserved and un-served areas targeting women, Dalits, Madhesis, Janjatis, indigenous groups and other backward communities and provides technical and financial support to client MFIs to expand their business to potential microfinance clients. The bank is politically neutral, committed to serving the rural poor with quality services to its customer and transparency in policies and operations.

The bank was initially promoted by The Government of Nepal, Agricultural Development Bank, Nepal Bank Limited, Nabil Bank and twenty one Small Farmers Cooperatives, however, the major portion of invested shares of the Agricultural Development Bank and the entire share holdings of the Government of Nepal had been given to 231 SFCLs. The programs and services provided by the bank through its eight branch offices include Wholesale Credit Program, Credit for meat production, Self-employment Credit Program, Farmer to Farmer Replication Program, Business Expansion Program, Livestock Insurance Program, Capacity Development Programs, Community Development Program, Remittance Services and Rural Finance Sector Development Cluster Program (RFSDCP).

The institution changed its name to Small Farmer Development Microfinance Financial Institute Ltd. (साना किसान विकास लघुवित्त वित्तिय संस्था लि.) in 2018.

For further details, contact:

Sana Kisan Bikash Laghubitta Bittiya Sanstha Limited
Subidhanagar, Kathmandu, Nepal
Tel: +977-1-4111828/ 4111923/ 4111752
Fax: +977-1-4111901