Tribhuvan University

The oldest of the five Universities in Nepal, Tribhuvan University was established in 1959. Popularly known as TU in Nepal, it is a state owned public university and is one of the largest universities in the world. The university is less expensive since it is financed by the government.

The main objectives of the University is to produce skilled manpower essential for the overall development of Nepal, to preserve and develop historical and cultural heritage of the nation, to accumulate, advance and disseminate knowledge and to encourage and promote research in Arts, Science, Medicine, Engineering, Agriculture, Management, Education and other vocational fields. Although it is a government financed, it still is an autonomous organization and the head of the government, the Prime Minister, is the Chancellor of the University.

The University located at Kirtipur, Kathmandu, is dedicated to making it a source and center of quality education to set up a culture of learning in the country and to promote the notion of national and global peace and harmony. However, irregularities and carelessness by the authorities during the exams and results has made it one of the most infamous Universities. Despite the irregularities, the students enrolling in the University is high compared to others as it is less expensive as well as well recognized around the world.

The university offers undergraduate and graduate education on different streams with more than four thousand four hundred courses on offer among which five hundred are for intermediate-level courses which is equivalent for higher secondary school. There are 2,079 courses for undergraduate studies and 2,000 for postgraduate programs. The university that has 85 integral colleges has given affiliation to around 600 colleges throughout the country.

The University has expanded its programs in different disciplines since its inception and there are five technical institutes and four general faculties offering 115 courses for technical proficiency level, 1079 courses at Bachelors level and 1000 courses at Master’s level with PhD degree in different disciplines both at the Technical Institutes and Faculties. The university has 7841 teaching faculty and 7413 non-teaching staff including the support staff in its constituent campuses.

The four faculties under the University are the Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences, Faculty of Management, Faculty of Education and Faculty of Law and the five institutes under the University are Institute of Medicine (IOM), Institute of Engineering (IOE), Institute of Science and Technology, Institute of Agriculture and Animal and Institute of Forestry.

There are five decision-making bodies at the University that are Universal Council, Executive Council, Academic Council, Research Coordination Council and Planning Council. For further information, log on to .